The Maxwell Wildcats qualified six wrestlers for next week’s state wrestling tournament in Omaha at the district tournament Friday and Saturday in Sutherland.

Twenty-two class D wrestling teams from western Nebraska attended the meet.

Maxwell senior and team captain Brett Riggs remained undefeated this season (48-0) and won his fourth straight district title in the 145-pound class.

This is Riggs’ second title for Maxwell. His first two came while attending St. Pat’s. Jacob Gholson finished third at 126 pounds to qualify for his second trip to state.

At 152 pounds, Wildcat Dalton Whisenhunt finished fourth.

Derek Gibson was runner up at 160 pounds to qualify for the third time for state. His first two came as a wrestler for Sutherland.

Tyler Wolfe finished fourth at 182.

At 220 pounds, Luke Howitt qualified with a third place finish.


Other area qualifiers:

(106 pounds) Samuel Foster (Sutherland) 1st; Landon Klasna (St. Patrick’s) 3rd

(113) Jon Peterka (Sutherland) 3rd

(120) Jeremy Larson (Brady) 1st

(126) Hunter Deeds (St Patrick’s) 4th

(132) Jacob Lantis (Sutherland) 4th

(152) William White (Sutherland) 2nd

(160) Seth Simants (Stapleton) 1st

(170) Talan McGill (St. Patrick’s) 1st

(182) Justin Schroll (St. Patrick’s) 3rd


Team scores

Mullen 220 points

Maxwell 130.5

Southwest 94

North Platte St. Patrick’s 84.5

Hitchcock County 79

Sutherland 79

Morrill 65

Garden County 64

Medicine Valley 63

Sandhills/Thedford 49.5

Bayard 49

Hay Springs 39

Dundy County/Stratton 36

Brady 30.5

Crawford 28,

Stapleton 28

Hyannis 22

Sioux County 9

Minatare 5

Banner County, Leyton, Wauneta Palisade, no score.