On primary election day, Chris Bruns pushed ahead of Interim Sen. Mike Jacobson in the race to represent Dist. 42.

Jacobson led in the early going, but when all the Lincoln County precincts were counted, Bruns had a narrow lead, 3,501-3,430.

Dist. 42 consists of Hooker, Thomas, McPherson and Logan counties, in addition to Lincoln County and about three-fourths of Perkins County.

Bruns came out on top in the overall count too, according to the secretary of state, by just 146 votes, 4,031-3,885.

Brenda Fourtner finished with 956 votes.

State school board

Elizabeth Tegtmeier of North Platte took a commanding win in the race for the western Nebraska seat on the state school board.

When the Lincoln County ballots were counted, Tegtmeier had 5,001 votes, more than tripling the total of incumbent Robin Stevens of Gothenburg, who had 1,430. Pat Moore of Litchfield had 894.

Tegtmeier earned an impressive victory in the entire district, which consists of 44 counties in central and western Nebraska. According to the Nebraska Secretary of State, Tegtmeier had 62.5% of the votes. Stevens had 20.3%.

Tegtmeier and Stevens will advance to the general election, where they will square off again.

All totals remain unofficial until votes are canvassed – double checked for errors – a 2-3 days.


In a three-way race for Lincoln County Commissioner, Dist. 2, incumbent Kent Weems narrowly defeated his nearest opponent David P. Huebner by about 64 votes. Todd Roe of Brady finished third.

Weems will be the Republican candidate in the November election and likely be re-elected to another term as county commissioner, because there are no candidates from other parties.

NP school board

In competitive races for two seats on the North Platte school board, Cynthia O’Connor and Marcy Hunter advanced in Ward 1. Anna Junker finished just behind Hunter.

In Ward 3, Emily Garrick and incumbent Mark Nicholson are the top vote getters.

The top two candidates advance in each ward.

Sutherland sales tax

Voters approved three propositions to set up an economic development fund in Sutherland by narrow margins. A sales and use tax will be established in the village, with some of that tax money will dedicated to an incentive fund for economic development.


David Gale, a North Platte banker, won the primary race for a seat on the board of directors of the Nebraska Public Power District.

Gale campaigned assertively and took a critical look at renewable fuels. With a few precincts left to report, the secretary of state said Gale had 38.36% of the votes in the power district.

At the time, Larry Linstrom of North Platte, a former board member, was second and incumbent Bill Hoyt third.

However, when all the precincts were counted, Hoyt edged Linstrom for the second spot. Just 500 or so votes separated each of the candidates, out of about 10,000 cast.

Gale and Hoyt advance to the general election.


In the Republican race for governor, frontrunner Jim Pillen took an early lead. Charles Herbster gained ground as the bulk of the votes were counted in Lincoln County and across the state, but still fell short. Pillen had about 34% statewide. Herbster had 30%.

Pillen will face Democrat Carol Blood in the general election.


In the race for the governing board of the University of Nebraska, former state Sen. Matt Williams of Gothenburg finished first in the regional race, leading runner-up Kathy Wilmot by about 5% of the votes cast. Nolan Gurnsey of North Platte was third. Williams and Wilmot advance.

As expected, Incumbent Adrian Smith dominated the Republican third-district race for the U.S. House of Representatives with 76% of the vote. Among Democrats, David Else edged Dan Wik for the nomination. Else will go up against Smith in the general election.

For all the unofficial Lincoln County results, click HERE.


Nearly 34% of eligible voters in Lincoln County cast ballots; 8,033 ballots were counted.

Here are most of the unofficial Lincoln County results:

North Platte School Board

Ward 1

Cynthia L. O’Connor – 800

Marcy Hunter – 598

Anna Junker – 564

Ward 3

Emily M. Garrick – 970

Mark D. Nicholson – 434

Mitch Wagner – 382

Suzanne Donnally – 201

Lincoln County commissioner, Dist. 2 (likely, winner take all)

Kent C. Weems, Stapleton – 371

David P. Huebner, North Platte – 307

Todd Roe, Brady – 208

Dist. 42, State Legislature (two candidates advance)

Chris Bruns, North Platte – 3,501

Mike Jacobson, North Platte – 3,430

Brenda K. Fourtner, North Platte – 840

Nebraska school board, Dist. 7

Elizabeth Tegtmeier, North Platte – 5,001

Robin Stevens, Gothenburg – 1,430

Pat Moore, Litchfield – 894

Nebraska Public Power District, Subdivision 4

David Gale, North Platte – 3,362

Larry E. Linstrom, North Platte – 2,282

Bill Hoyt, McCook – 1,497

NU Board of Regents, Dist. 7

Matt Williams, Gothenburg – 3,427

Kathy Wilmot, Beaver City – 2,462

Nolan Gurnsey, Sutherland – 775

Republican Public Service Commission, Dist 5

Mary Ridder – 1,931

Kevin Stocker – 1,894

Dakota Delka – 687

Neb. governor, Republican (winner secures the Republican nomination)

Jim Pillen – 2,397

Charles W. Herbster – 2,073

Brett Lindstrom – 1,026

Theresa Thibodeau – 268

Breland Ridenour – 104

Michael Connely – 97

Donna Nicole Carpenter – 53

Lela McNinch – 30

Troy Wentz – 21

© 2022 The North Platte Bulletin. All rights reserved.