In conjunction with the League of Women Voters of Nebraska, Sen. Lynne Walz and members of the state legislature are expected to designate August as Nebraska Women’s Suffrage Month.

Walz will introduce the legislative resolution on Feb. 14.

The recognition kicks off a year-long celebration from August 2019 through August 2020 by the League of Women Voters of the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment, granting United States women in the right to vote.

In the final campaign for women’s suffrage, Nebraska was the 14th state to ratify the 19th Amendment on Aug. 2, 1919.  Over the next year, other states followed, with Tennessee becoming the 36th needed and last state to ratify the amendment on Aug. 18, 1920.

The 19th Amendment officially became part of the U.S. Constitution on Aug. 26, 1920.

“The Nebraska League was organized in June 1920,” said Sherry Miller, President of the state League, “and was fully ready to lead the way for Women’s suffrage in Nebraska when it was ratified later that year.  It has been leading the way in voter education and protection ever since.”