Leslie Fattig, the Executive Director of the Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation (NSHSF), announced the names of the seven senior winners of the Nebraskans of World War II Scholarships and the Pearl Harbor Remembrance Award.

The students were selected from more than 50 schools. The scholarships are endowed by Nebraskans on behalf of Nebraska war heroes.

“This year’s student essays were remarkable,” said Fattig. “It is very gratifying to know that history matters to Nebraska’s young people. It isn’t just a subject or course to them — it’s a vital part of their lives, and forms their personal points of view.”

The Nebraskans of World War II scholarship recipients are:

  • Grace DeLaittre, Omaha Central High School.
  • Jaci Teahon, Gothenburg High School.
  • Kathryn Botkin, Millard South High School, Omaha.

The Nebraskans of World War II scholarship fund memorializes the brave men and women of Nebraska who fought for the freedoms of millions of people.

Two Lincoln servicemen in particular have been memorialized by their families through these scholarships — Edward J. Clough and Adrian B. DePutron.

This year, the recipients received a $2,000 scholarship for their college education. Also, the Pearl Harbor Remembrance Award recipients are:

  • Will Krolikowski, Creighton Prep, Omaha.
  • Clara Wolcott, Omaha Central High School.
  • Bailey Premer, Kearney High School.
  • Connor Sears, Kearney High School.

The Pearl Harbor Remembrance Award was created by Col. Barney Oldfield and his wife Vada to honor the 22 Nebraskans killed during the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor who remain entombed in the U.S.S. Arizona.

The Pearl Harbor Remembrance Fund provides awards to high school seniors from the school districts that encompass the communities that were hometowns of the entombed Nebraskan sailors.

For more information, or to contribute to these scholarship programs, contact NSHSF Executive Director Leslie Fattig at (402) 435-3535 or email LFattig@nshsf.org.

Visit www.nshsf.org.