The Nebraska Public Service Commission has elected Fifth District Commissioner Mary Ridder of Callaway as the chairwoman for 2018.

The PSC regulates pipelines, telecommunication lines, railroad lines and grain warehouses in Nebraska, among other things.

Ridder was selected as chairman at the commission’s meeting Tuesday in Lincoln.

She was first elected to the commission in November 2016 for a six-year term. She represents 47 counties in the western two-thirds of Nebraska.

Fourth District Commissioner Rod Johnson of Sutton was re-elected vice-chair.

The PSC leadership positions are elected on an annual basis, spokeswoman Deb Collins said after the commission met Tuesday.