Full Site View
Quick Links
  My Bulletin
  Contact The Bulletin

Mail: Southern statues symbolize suppession

Mail: Thanks for helping Aiden

More opinion

Ag News

Fall: Good time to spray musk thistle in rosette stage

Robertson and Delsing re-elected chair, vice chair of NWB

More Ag News

NorthPlatte Weather

Email Article | Print Article
News - State/Regional News
State sets up new response system for mental, behavorial health crisesTell North Platte what you think
Courtesy Photo­Image
Regional Administrator Beth Baxter speaks at a press conference announcing the program.

A new crisis response program was launched Monday to improve Nebraska’s fragmented and sometimes cumbersome behavioural health response system.

“We have heard directly from families that Nebraska’s response when they are in crisis has been fragmented. This is a tangible step to change that,” said Courtney Phillips, the Chief Executive Officer of the state department of health and human services.

Crisis response, previously provided in pockets across the state, is now available statewide.

The number for Lincoln County is Region 2 Human Services, 308-390-4645.

Crisis response teams provide immediate mental health crisis counselling, Phillips said. The teams may partner with law enforcement to assess risks, intervene and stabilize a crisis and refer consumers to mental health resources in their communities.

Depending on location, services are offered face-to-face or via tele-health.

“The response system is geared to build upon a youth’s and family’s strengths and assist them in developing a plan to resolve the crisis,” Ricketts said.  

“Crisis Response brings a much-needed service to Nebraska families,” Director of Behavioral Health Sheri Dawson said. “It will allow youth and families immediate access to behavioral health interventions in their most critical time of need.”

“We want families to be served in their communities and not in higher levels of care whenever possible,” she said.

The new program is funded through a $12-million, four-year grant awarded to DHHS in 2016 from the federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

The program also recognizes the “system of care” for youth who have a serious emotional disturbance, aiming to reduce high rates of out-of-community placements, the governor’s office said in announcing the program.

The “System of Care” draws on the expertise and resources of agencies -- state agencies, non-profits, local governments, behavioral health providers, families and patient advocates – to help children, youth and families function better at home, in school, in the community, and in life.

DHHS is partnering closely with the Nebraska Children and Families Foundation, the Nebraska Department of Education, the Administrative Office of Probation, and family organizations.

Families in crisis can reach out for services only at the numbers below.

Consumers can also use the Nebraska Family Helpline, 888-866-8660, to connect with these and other services.

Southwest Nebraska

Arthur, Chase, Dawson, Dundy, Frontier, Gosper, Grant, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Keith, Lincoln, Logan McPherson, Perkins, Red Willow and Thomas Counties: Region 2 Human Services, 308-390-4645.

Panhandle area

Morrill, Scotts Bluff, Banner, Cheyenne, Deuel, Garden and Kimball Counties: Region 1 Behavioral Health Services, 308-225-1599.

Sheridan, Dawes and Sioux Counties, 308-430-4610.

Box Butte County: Box Butte General Hospital, 308-762-6660.


Central Nebraska

Adams, Clay, Franklin, Nuckolls and Wheeler Counties: 402-463-5684.

Blaine, Custer, Garfield, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Howard, Loup, Merrick, Sherman, Valley and Wheeler Counties: 800-515-3326.

Buffalo, Furnas, Harlan, Kearney and Phelps Counties: 308-237-5951.


Northeast Nebraska

Antelope, Cedar, Cuming, Knox, Madison, Pierce, Stanton Counties: 888-370-7003.

Boone, Colfax, Nance, Platte Counties: 866-758-4749.

Boyd, Brown, Cherry, Holt, Keya Paha, Rock Counties: 877-488-9928.

Burt, Dakota, Dixon, Thurston, Wayne Counties: 877-958-7776.


Southeast Nebraska

Butler, Fillmore, Gage, Jefferson, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Polk, Richardson, Saline, Saunders, Seward, Thayer, York Counties: local law enforcement.


Omaha Metro

Cass, Sarpy, Dodge, Douglas, Washington Counties: 888-866-8660.

Like this story to send to your facebook

The North Platte Bulletin - Published 5/9/2017
Copyright © 2017 northplattebulletin.com - All rights reserved.
Flatrock Publishing, Inc. - 1300 E 4th St., Suite F - North Platte, NE 69101
Show me Talk Back during this visit