The National Society Daughters of the American Revolution established the American Indians Committee in 1941, “to provide financial assistance and educational aid to Native American youth and to alert the members of our National Society to those needs.”

Dedicated to fostering understanding and honoring the first Americans, the American Indians Committee continues to encourage good relationships and cultural exchange through Indian minutes read at meetings and the celebration of November as National American Indian Heritage Month.

Opportunities for support of first Americans exist in donations to three institutions, Chemawa Indian School, Indian Youth of America Summer Camp and Bacone College.

Lexington Mayor John Fagot recently signed the Proclamation acknowledging November as National American Indian Month.

Pictured, front row:  Mayor John Fagot. Back row:  Jackie Ohlmann, NSDAR National Chair American Indians Committee and Bonnevile Vice Regent; Patsy Loschen, Bonneville Historian; Sandy Mittelstaedt, Bonneville Regent; and Linda Mins, Bonneville Chapter American Indian Chair.

By Marge Bader, Bonneville Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution.